Registration will be possible on this website from November 2019.

The conference fee includes 4-nights accommodation, 4x breakfast and 3x dinner (starting with the dinner on Tuesday evening and ending with the breakfast on Saturday morning), the 4-Course-Conference Dinner, coffee breaks (Wednesday to Friday morning and afternoon) , mineral water during conference times, the Book of Abstracts as well as access to the hotel spa and the Sports/ Wellness Center Ovavera.

The fees are:

  • senior: EUR 900,- (individual room)
  • junior: EUR 600,- (shared room)

Please note that the number of participants is limited to about 120 due to the capacity of the lecture hall available. Registrations will be handled on a first come first serve basis, thus please register at your earliest convenienceSingle-room-registrations may be changed to double-room registrations by the organizers, if there are not enough single-rooms available anymore.



Payment of the conference fee is to be made by bank transfer only. Registration without receipt of payment until 15th December 2019 will be automatically cancelled.
Below please find the respective banking details. Please make sure that the account holder/ beneficiary is named “Empa, Ueberlandstrasse 129, 8600 Duebendorf, Switzerland” and not “EWEG2D 2020”.

Payment information for the registration fee (EUR)
Bank name / Branch Address:                PostFinance, Mingerstrasse 20, CH-3030 Bern
Bank Clearing No.:                                    9000
BIC (Swiftcode):                                         POFICHBEXXX
Account no.:                                               91-681365-0
IBAN:                                                           CH56 0900 0000 9168 1365 0
Payment reference N° (mandatory):     5211.91205.105 + name of participant
Account Holder:                                        Empa, Ueberlandstrasse 129 8600 Duebendorf, Switzerland


Cancellation Policy

In case you already registered and paid for the conference but you cannot take part for any reason, the following rules for refunding of the conference fee apply:

  • until 31.01.2020: 100% refund
  • 01.02. - 28.02.2020: 80% refund
  • from 01.03.2020: no refund


Contributions to the conference proceedings (two page extended abstracts) are expected to be submitted no later than February 3rd, 2020 and have to be sent by e-mail to . For paper preparation and submission see the following guidelines:

Abstract maximum length is 2 pages of A4 paper (210 mm x 297 mm, portrait, printable area 160 mm x 240 mm).

  • Underline the presenting author.
  • E-mail address of the corresponding author should be placed in the affiliation field.
  • Do NOT print a page number.
  • If you need to include figures, use standard formats such as .jpg, .gif, .png, etc.
  • Use only Times/Helvetica/Courier/Symbol/Arial/Times New Roman fonts.


A template file is available in MS Word format. 

The format of the submitted document has to be Adobe PDF.

Do not forget to check that the document is not infected by any computer viruses.

abstract template (Version 1.0)

Thumbnail Uploaded by Christine Tran, 9/5/19 2:20 PM

Version 1.0

Last Updated by Christine Tran
9/5/19 2:20 PM
Status: Approved
Download (16k) Get URL.
Version History
Version Date Size  
1.0 11 Days Ago 16k

5th European Workshop on Epitaxial Graphene and 2D Materials (EWEG2D’2020)

May 26 - 29, 2020

St. Moritz, Switzerland

The scope of the 5th edition of the EWEG2D, being held in St. Moritz Switzerland 26 - 29th of May 2020, is the physics and chemistry of 2-dimensional (2D) materials with a focus on mono- or few layer systems grown on well-defined substrates.

The workshop addresses the entire range of 2D materials: ranging from graphene to stanine and from transition metal dichalcogenides to the van der Waals ferromagnets. 2D materials derived nanostructures like graphene nanoribbons, membranes, hybrids with molecules or clusters, and heteroepitaxial systems involving different 2D-layers vertically or laterally stacked and their synthesis by new methods like molecular beam epitaxy or ultralow pressure chemical vapor deposition are key topics of the conference. The workshop includes studies on the interaction of 2D-materials with their environment, for example the adsorption of atoms or molecules, the effect of the substrate, or the interaction with light, electric or magnetic fields. 

EWEG2D’20 is concerned with the experimental determination of structural, electronic, magnetic, optical, and catalytic properties of supported and freestanding 2D-materials, where defects, edges, moirés, and doping of 2D materials are of considerable interest. Additionally, theoretical modelling of properties, new effects, functions, and novel material system constitute an integral part of the workshop program.

Continuing the tradition of the previous editions, EWEG2D’2020 is set to give a comprehensive review of the latest developments in the field by a selection of distinguished invited speakers, contributed talks and poster sessions. At the same time the location and schedule should stimulate inspiring scientific exchange and networking between senior and young researchers.

We hope to see you in St. Moritz!


International Scientific Committee:
José Ángel Martín-Gago, Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid-CSIC
Yuriy Dedkov, Shanghai University
Silvano Lizzit, Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste
Rosanna Larciprete, Istituto dei Sistemi Complessi
Thomas Greber, Universität Zürich
Johann Coraux,
Institut Néel, CNRS & Université Grenoble Alpes
Carsten Busse, Universität Siegen
Liv Hornekær, Aarhus University
Matthias Batzill, University of South Florida
Oliver Gröning, Empa
Thomas Michely, University of Cologne

Local Organising Committee:
Empa, nanotech@surfaces Laboratory, Dübendorf, Switzerland
Oliver Gröning (chairperson)
Christine Tran

Previous Workshops

Invited Speakers

Confirmed Keynote Speakers


Prof. Hong-Jun Gao

Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Science, Beijing (CN)

Deputy Director, Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences


Prof. Michael F. Crommie

Department of Physics, University of California Berkeley (USA)

Group Leader


Confirmed Invited Speakers

Dr. Rosanna Larciprete

Istituto dei Sistemi Complessi, Rome (IT)



Prof. Felix Baumberger

ARPES Group, Université de Genève (CH)

Group Leader


Prof. Katharina J. Franke

Freie Universität Berlin, Berlin (DE)

Group Leader


Prof. Mairbek Chshiev

Université Grenoble Alpes, Grenoble (FR)

Head of Theory and Modeling Group


Prof. Nacho Pasqual

nanoGUNE, San Sebastian (ES)

Ikerbasque Research Professor and Group Leader Nanoimaging Group


Prof. Pavel Jelinek

Institute of Physics, Czech Academy of Sciences, Prague (CZ)

Group Leader Nanosurf Lab


Prof. Marika Schleberger

Fakultät für Physik, Universität Duisburg Essen (DE)

Group Leader


Prof. Stephan Hofmann

Cambridge Graphene Center, University of Cambridge (UK)

Group Leader